Seward County Planning & Zoning Department

The Seward County Planning & Zoning Office is located at 320 S. 14th St., Seward, NE 68434; Phone (402) 643-3525. E-mail: Office hours are from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Functions of the Planning & Zoning Office

The primary responsibility of the Seward County Planning & Zoning Office is to administer and enforce zoning regulations in Seward County. Conduct building inspections and perform building inspections of the construction of waste control systems.

Building Permits

Any constructing, reconstructing, enlarging, alteration or moving of any structure or building requires a permit in all areas of Seward County Zoning Jurisdiction. Permits are used to insure compliance to building code, statutes and regulations, and is the process for an individual to learn the requirements prior to the start of a project. Permits are not required for maintenance such as painting, papering, re-roofing etc.

There are two types of permits:

  1. Building Permit: Required for all residential construction and additions regardless of location. Required for all outbuilding construction other than farms (farms are defined as 20 or more acres). Required for all commercial construction. Fee charged of $25 plus $4 per thousand dollars of estimated construction costs. Inspections required. Inspection fees are included in the building permit fee.
  2. Development Permit: Required for all outbuilding construction of farms. No fee. Permit used to verify compliance with regulations such as set backs and tracking construction within Seward County. No inspections required.

Frequently Asked Questions

How may acres do I need to build?
The basic rule in Seward County is that one home may be built per quarter section. There are exceptions to the rule. It is recommended that you contact the Zoning Office with the legal description of the property you are interested in and for an interpretation that applies.


About Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | ©2016 Seward County Government